Hot topics close

Suit up, Guardians! Destiny 2 Season 14 is right around the corner

It's time for another huge seasonal update! Destiny 2 Season 14 is right around the corner and if you're wanting a countdown, we've got you covered. Here's the latest, Guardians.

Destiny 2's next major expansion might be delayed, but that doesn't mean Bungie is slowing down.

Here is everything you need to know about Destiny 2 Season 14.

Advertisement

Release Date & Time

Season 14 is set to begin on Tuesdsay, May 11th.

At the time of the weekly reset the downtime will begin and is expected to last for around one hour.

You can check out the 3.2.0 Update timeline below:

  • Maintenance Begins: 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST
  • Players Removed & D2 Goes Offline: 09:45 PST / 12:45 EST / 17:45 BST
  • Update 3.2.0 Releases: 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 BST
  • Maintenance Concludes: 11:00 PST / 14:00 EST / 19:00 BST

Advertisement

Bungie is usually pretty good at keeping to their schedules, as Destiny 2 players will know, but it might be worth keeping an eye on Bungie Help on May 11th just in case.

Season of the Splicer Roadmap

We know when the update is going to drop, but what about what's actually in the update. Following the reveal of a brand new Season 14 Trailer, Bungie has also shared the Destiny 2 Season 14 content roadmap for fans to get to grips with.

We know that most of the content is coming out on May 11th, but Vault of Glass isn't being added until May 22nd. In addition to this, the season's Epilogue starts a whole two weeks before it is due to end on August 10th.

You can check out the full content roadmap below:

Destiny 2 Season 14 Countdown Roadmap
click to enlarge
+ 4
SEASON 14 ROADMAP - There's going to be regular content updates throughout
What Is Going On, Anyway?

That's an excellent question. If you want to get a glimpse of what's happening, you can check out the new Season 14 Trailer below. This should shed some light on what's happening...

Advertisement

"The Vex have plunged the Last City into an endless night, threatening the safety once found beneath the watchful presence of the Traveler. It is here, bathed in perpetual moonlight, that Ikora reveals the identity of an unlikely ally that may hold the keys to triumphing over this attack."

Who is this unlikely ally, though? Mithrax, one of the last Splicers out there.

" Mithrax, Kell of the House of Light, leads a small group of Eliksni who wish to be closer to the Traveler. As a Sacred Splicer, he possesses the knowledge needed to combat the Vex technology that ensnares the Last City. There is a bond of Light shared here... will it be enough?"

New Missions & Activities

Advertisement

There's going to be two new ways to play Destiny 2 in Season 14, the Season of the Splicer.

Firstly, Override is being added as the brand-new six-player multiplayer fireteam mode. Here's the latest on what that means from Bungie:

" Fireteams of six will use Splicer tech to hack the Vex Network. Uncover their secrets, steal their code, and user their power against them."

Secondly, there's also going to be a new Weekly Pinnacle Mission: Expunge. Weird name, right? This one's description is a little vaguer but we're expecting things to change a little bit from week to week.

" Each week, Guardians will uncover new vulnerabilities within the Vex Network and use Splicer Keys to infiltrate and collapse it from within."

If you look at the roadmap above, you can get an insight into when the Weekly Pinnacle Mission will update in-game.

New Features & Firearms

Like any Destiny 2 season, the Season of the Splicer isn't just about the new narrative expansion. There's a couple of new features that are worth talking about and some new weapons are being added to the game.

As for the new features, Armor Synthesis is the one everyone's talking about.

Advertisement

" Grow your collection among the stars and forge your look in the Last City. Every journey and every Guardian is unique. Your armour should be too."

Destiny 2 Season 14 Roadmap The Loom ADA-1
click to enlarge
+ 4
STRAIGHT T'LOOM - Recover Braytech secrets from Europa and create Synthweave with ADA-1

The process seems a little convoluted, though. You'll need to go through a few different steps but eventually, it'll let you turn any piece of armour you have into a Universal Ornament. This can then be applied to another piece of armour to change its appearance without affecting the stats of the item. It's something other looter shooters have been doing for a while now and Destiny 2 has finally caught up.

As for the "armaments", there are quite a few new weapons coming.

Firstly, we have the new Season Pass Pistol. The Cryosthesia 77k is a gift from Mithrax that should help you turn the tide in the fight against The Vex. You can get it from the off if you purchase Destiny 2's Season 14 Season Pass, too.

Advertisement

Destiny 2 Season 14 Countdown Cryo Stasis Exotic Sidearm
click to enlarge
+ 4
EXOTIC STASIS SIDEARM - The Cryosthesia 77k looks like a good bit of kit

This isn't all though... Over thirty new weapons are being added to the game alongside things like "Star-Eater Scales", The Path of Burning Steps", and "Boots of the Assembler."

Advertisement

" Over 30 new and reprised Legendary weapons to crash the Vex Network with. Find the perfect weapon, the perfect roll, and bring an end to this endless night."

Destiny 2 Season 14 Countdown New Weapons
click to enlarge
+ 4
GUNS, GUNS, GUNS - There's quite a few new weapons out there to get your hands on

That is a lot of weapons, isn't it? Three of them will be available to unlock on the Seasonal Track and Umbral Engrams and Override completions will give you a chance to get the rest.

The latest "This Week At Bungie" has a lot more information on everything that's coming...

Similar news
  • Destiny 2 likely revealing more on The Witch Queen expansion in August
  • How to get Compass Rose, the Solstice Shotgun, in Destiny 2
  • Destiny 2 update time, Solstice of Heroes, Weekly Reset and weapons patch
  • When does Destiny 2's Solstice of Heroes Event kick off today?
  • 'Destiny 2' Reminder: The 12 Un-Sunset Weapons Returning Tomorrow
  • Destiny 2 DOWN: Bungie emergency maintenance after BAT, WEASEL, PORPOISE errors
  • Destiny 2 Trials of Osiris rewards this week - Bungie Loot report today
  • Destiny 2 Vault of Glass Oracle Order and how to destroy them – Templar's Well
  • Destiny 2 Vault of Glass World's First Race – Who is winning?
  • Destiny 2's new Transmog system takes 25 hours to make a single outfit
  • Destiny 2 down for 'emergency maintenance' after Season of the Splicer release
  • Destiny 2 Update 3.2.0 Balances Stasis Subclasses, Reworks PvP Ranks
  • Destiny 2: Baby Fallen plushies are coming, and they're adorable
  • Destiny 2's Season Of The Splicer Dawns On May 11
  • Here's What's Left In Destiny 2's Season Of The Chosen
  • Insane Destiny 2 exploit allows players to create 12-man raid teams
  • Destiny 2 Update Fixes Issues With Battlegrounds Mode, Full Patch Notes Revealed
  • Destiny 2 Update 2.12 February 23 (PS5 1.007) Released for Hotfix 3.1.0.1 (Update)
  • Destiny 2: Where Is Xur This Week? Exotic Items / Location Guide (Feb. 12-16)
  • Destiny 2 Xur location and items, Feb. 12-16